Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University

Faculty

Adjunct, Affiliate, Emeritus

Faculty


Birgitte K. Ahring Birgitte Ahring

Professor
bka@wsu.edu
509-372-7682
BSEL 203, WSU Tri-Cities


Gustavo Barbosa-CanovasGustavo Barbosa-Cánovas

Professor
barbosa@wsu.edu
509-335-6188
L.J. Smith Hall 220, Pullman


Shulin ChenShulin Chen

Professor
chens@wsu.edu
509-335-3743
L.J. Smith Hall 253, Pullman


Manuel Garcia-PérezManuel Garcia-Pérez

Department Chair; Professor
mgarcia-perez@wsu.edu
509-335-7758
L.J. Smith Hall 205, Pullman


Manoj KarkeeManoj Karkee

Professor
manoj.karkee@wsu.edu
509-786-9208
Ag Tech 105, WSU Prosser – IAREC


Lav R. KhotLav R. Khot

Associate Professor
Interim Director of AWN
lav.khot@wsu.edu
509-786-9302, Ag Tech 109, WSU Prosser-IAREC
509-335-5638, L.J. Smith Hall 206, Pullman


Hanwu LeiHanwu Lei

Professor
hlei@wsu.edu
509-372-7628
BSEL 225, WSU Tri-Cities


Pius M. NdegwaPius Ndegwa

Professor
ndegwa@wsu.edu
509-335-8167
Paccar 348, Pullman


R. Troy PetersTroy Peters

Professor
troy_peters@wsu.edu
509-786-9247
WSU Prosser – IAREC


Kirti RajagopalanKirti Rajagopalan

Assistant Professor
kirtir@wsu.edu
253-445-4626
PACCAR 354, Pullman


Shyam SablaniShyam Sablani

Professor
ssablani@wsu.edu
509-335-7745
L.J. Smith Hall 209, Pullman


Sindhuja SankaranSindhuja Sankaran

Associate Professor
sindhuja.sankaran@wsu.edu
509-335–8828
L.J. Smith Hall 202, Pullman


Claudio O. StöckleClaudio Stockle

Professor Emeritus
2001-2016
stockle@wsu.edu


Juming TangJuming Tang

Member of US National Academy of Engineering
Regents’ Professor, Distinguished Chair of Food Engineering
jtang@wsu.edu 509-335-2140
L.J. Smith Hall 208, Pullman


Joan WuJoan Q. Wu

Professor
jwu@wsu.edu
253-445-4565
Kalkus Hall 317, WSU Puyallup – Research & Ext Center


Xiaochao Xiong

Xiaochao Xiong

Assistant Professor 
xcxiong@wsu.edu@wsu.edu
509-335-5996
L.J. Smith Hall 207, Pullman


Bin YangBin Yang

Professor
binyang@tricity.wsu.edu
509-372-7640
BSEL 223, WSU Tri-Cities


Liang YuLiang Yu

Assistant Professor
yuliang08@wsu.edu
509-335-7950
L.J. Smith Hall 258, Pullman


Qin ZhangQin Zhang

Professor; Director CPASS
qinzhang@wsu.edu
509-786-9360
Ag Tech 101, WSU Prosser – IAREC

Adjunct Faculty


Pavlo BohutskyiPavlo Bohutskyi

Chemical Engineer
WSU-PNNL Joint Appointment
pavlo.bohutskyi@wsu.edu 509-371-7801
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA


David BrownDavid J. Brown

dave.brown@metergroup.com
509-332-2756
Meter Group, Inc, Pullman, WA 99163


Joaquin CasanovaJoaquin Casanova

Public Affiliate – USDA ARS
joaquin.casanova@wsu.edu
225 Johnson Hall, Pullman, WA 99164


Farid ChejneFarid Chejne

Professor
fchejne@unal.edu.co
+57-44255333
National University of Columbia, Medellin, Columbia


William ElliotWilliam J. Elliot

Research Civil Engineer
welliot@fs.fed.us
208-883-2338
Rocky Mtn Research Station, Moscow, ID


David I. GustafsonDavid I. Gustafson

Independent Scientist
david.i.gustafson@wsu.edu
314-409-7123
Saint Louis, MO


Gerrit HoogenboomGerrit Hoogenboom

Professor
gerrit@ufl.edu
352-392-1864
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL


Jian LiuJian Liu

Senior Research Engineer
jian.liu@pnnl.gov
509-372-4477
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA


Jonathan MaleJonathan Male

Chief Scientist in the Energy Processes and Materials Division
WSU-PNNL Joint Appointment
jonathan.male@pnnl.gov     509-375-5915
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA


Mariefel V. OlarteMariefel V. Olarte

Chemical Engineer IV
mariefel.olarte@pnnl.gov
509-375-2200
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA


Nigel PickeringNigel Pickering

Senior Engineer 
npickering@geosyntec.com
612-253-8200
Geosyntec Consulting, Minneapolis, MN


Wei-Jun QianWei-Jun Qian

Senior Staff Scientist, Team Lead for Proteomics
weijun.qian@pnnl.gov
509-371-6572
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA


Peter RobichaudPeter R. Robichaud

Research Engineer
probi@wsu.edu
208-883- 2349
Rocky Mtn Research Station, Moscow, ID


Melba R. Salazar-GutierrezMelba R. Salazar-Gutierrez

Assistant Professor Specialty Crop Physiologist
mrs0146@auburn.edu
334-844-1699
Department of Horticulture, Auburn University, AL


Melvin TuckerMelvin P. Tucker

Senior Scientist IV, Retired
mtnr@totalspeed.com


Shaojin WangShaojin Wang

Professor
shaojin_wang@wsu.edu
029-87092391
Northwest A&F University, Yangling, China


Mark WigmostaMark Wigmosta

Chief Scientist
Mark.Wigmosta@pnnl.gov
509-372-6238
PNNL – Energy and Environment Directorate
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richmond, WA


Aaron T. WrightAaron T. Wright

Director, Biological Systems Science Group
aaron.wright@pnnl.gov
509-372-5920
Principal Investigator, Chemical Biology
Earth & Biological Sciences Directorate, Biomedical Scientist
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richmond, WA


Vivian WuVivian C.H. Wu

Research Leader
Vivian.wu@ars.usda.gov
510-559-5829
Produce Safety and Microbiology
USDA-ARS Western Reg. Research Center, Albany, CA

Affiliate Faculty


Elizabeth BeersElizabeth Beers

Professor & Entomologist
ebeers@wsu.edu
509-293-8755
1100 N Western Ave, Tree Fruit Research,  Wenatchee


Markus FluryMarkus Flury

Professor
flury@wsu.edu
253-445-4522, WSU Puyallup – Research & Ext Center


Girish GanjyalGirish M. Ganjyal

Associate Professor
girish.ganjyal@wsu.edu
509-335-5613
FSHN 228, School of Food Science, Pullman


Anand JayakaranAnand D. Jayakaran

Associate Professor
anand.jayakaran@wsu.edu
253-445-4523
WSU Puyallup – Research & Ext Center


Hongfei LinHongfei Lin

Associate Professor
hongfei.lin@wsu.edu
509-335-1341
Wegner Hall 109, VCEA, Pullman


Francisco Leal-YepesFrancisco Leal-Yepes

Assistant Professor
f.leal-yepes@wsu.edu
607-216-5536
Animal Disease Biotechnology Facility, 1035 CVM, Pullman


Donald McCoolDonald K. McCool

Public Affiliate
dkmccool@wsu.edu
509-335-1347
L.J. Smith Hall 257, Pullman


Jean-Sabin McEwenJean-Sabin McEwen

Assistant Professor
js.mcewen@wsu.edu
509-335-8580
Wegner Hall 257, VCEA, Pullman


Jen McIntyreJen McIntyre

Aquatic Toxicologist, WSU School of the Environment
jen.mcintyre@wsu.edu
206-369-1832
WSU Puyallup – Research & Ext Center


Peter H. Pfromm   Peter H. Pfromm

Professor
peter.pfromm@wsu.edu
509-335-6579
309 Wegner Hall School of Chem E and Bioeng, VCEA, Pullman


Michael WolcottMichael Wolcott

Regents Professor and Associate Vice President for Research
wolcott@wsu.edu
509-335-6392
PACCAR 250, Office of Clean Technology, Pullman


Vikram YadamaVikram Yadama

Professor
vyadama@wsu.edu
509-335-6261
PACCAR 154, Composite Materials & Engineering Center
Civil and Environmental Engineering, WSU, Pullman

Previous BSE Departmental Chairs


Juming Tang

Juming Tang

Member of US National Academy of Engineering
Regents’ Professor, Distinguished Chair of Food Engineering
2016-2020
jtang@wsu.edu 509-335-2140


Claudio O. StöckleClaudio Stockle

Professor Emeritus
2001-2016
stockle@wsu.edu

 


Denny DavisDenny Davis

Professor Emeritus
2000-2001

 


Ralph CavalieriRalph Cavalieri

Professor Emeritus
1991-2000
cavalieri@wsu.edu

 


Larry JamesLarry James

Professor Emeritus
1987-1991

 


Larry KingLarry King

Professor Emeritus
1979-1987

 


Al PettiboneAlan Pettibone

Professor Emeritus
1975-1987

 


LJ SmithLJ Smith

Professor Emeritus
1920-1947